I’m a little late to participate in this week’s SIA challenge, hosted by Daenel over on Living Outside The Stacks (http://livingoutsidethestacks.com/style-imitating-art-the-showing-jazz-stories-by-faith-ringgold/), but I since I was able to squeeze these photos in (barely) and because I really liked what she chose for the challenge, I decided to throw on a quick post with what I chose for her selection of Faith Ringgold’s Jazz Stories. Check them out below.

Like a few of the other participants in the round-up, I went with two “outfits” as well, both coming close to, but not spot on, the colors seen in the piece. I always say that I never look good in color, preferring my darker colors over these, but I will admit that these came out pretty good.

Just looking at Faith’s art piece makes me think of jazz music, particularly smooth jazz, which has been a part of my childhood experience as my mom would always have it playing in the background, either while in the car, or in the house on the radio while she’s working. And while I vastly prefer classical over jazz, I still really enjoy the mood that it put me in while it’s playing. And I have quite a few smooth jazz tracks on my mp3 player, when I want to give Vivaldi and Bach a break.

So there’s my take on Daenel’s SIA choice, Jazz Stories by Faith Ringgold. Be sure to check out the round-up on Daenel’s blog (linked above), to see how ever other partcipant interpreted this work. Everyone did terrific!

2 thoughts on “SIA Post: “Jazz Stories”

  1. Hi Kezzie!! Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, I really regretted missing out on the round-up as I had these outfits planned out right when the new SIA idea was announced, but my life is so crazy that I couldn’t get my photos taken in time! I think I will ask Daenel if she wouldn’t mind adding them in her round-up, if it’s not too much trouble! I really loved your outfits that you did for this SIA! Your yellow dress was especially perfect!

    Oooh, I will have to look both of them up, as I am not familiar with them! Do you know of Daryl Davis (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daryl_Davis)? I recently discovered him and while he is more of a Blues musician, he has played with many of the ‘big names’, such as Jerry Lee Lewis and Chuck Berry. As a musician, I’m sure you know that Jazz music is closely linked to Blues, Ragtime, and Folk music. ‘Smooth Jazz’, what I mentioned in my post, is sort of a “revamp” or slightly more “refined” style of its “parent” genre that became widely popular here in the 1980s when I was growing up. It definitely puts you in the mood of relaxation while listening to it! I really like “Sol Amor” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ASu6yZF6t8) by Blake Aaron, and “Fast Train To A Quiet Place” by Brian Hughes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RR3-rAoj5J0), just to name a few.

    Wow!! That’s awesome, Kezzie! I’m sure that you were great!!! I would love to hear you play!

    Like

  2. Hello Mike! I am so sad you didn’t make it in time for the round up as I love your colours and looks for this and was really hoping you would join in! The tshirts are brilliant and with the red long top underneath and dark trousers work really well. You should have sent them late, I’m sure she’d add you in!
    I too like listening to Jazz as well as classical. I really like Django Reinhardt and Oscar Peterson as well as a lot of the other guys! I played a jazz gig 2 years ago at a well known venue in London for jazz called Pizza Express Jazz Cafe in London-it was a bit scary but super fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment