Hey there, it’s SIA time once again. And this time around, we have a special presentation for you. My blogging friends, Salazar, Jen and Erin, liked my recent idea I had to present a piece that is located at my job, the Akron Summit County Public Library; a wall mural painted by local artist, Julie Hogarth, called Galaxy, seen below.

Mural 5

Mural 6

Mural 10

To give you a quick overview, in case you missed last week’s post (see here), the wall is located in the children’s area (where I work), and was painted for our new “tween” space that’s currently underway and in hopes that the full project will be completed before the end of the year.

Jen, over on Librarian For Life And Style, was kind enough to host this marvelous piece (thanks, Jen!) on her blog so be sure to go check it out.

So, moving on, for this SIA, I came up with a simple outfit.

Galaxy SIA

The turquoise T-shirt (which has the company logo of the place where my mom works) I think works great for much of the painting’s blues and greens that I see in it. I can’t help but think of the outer planets, Uranus and Neptune (the sky and ocean color planets respectively) when look at both the mural and my shirt. I can’t think of a better comparison for these colors than that. I think that it’s a perfect match.

And of course, this wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t include a picture of myself standing in front of the wall! And I’m wearing my classic black attire so I’ve got the “galaxy” part covered in there as well.

Me In Front Of Wall Mural

So there you have it! There’s still time to participate! Just snap a photo of yourself wearing an outfit that you feel that best represents Julie’s work here and send it off to Jen (see her blog for contact info) by October 10th to be included in the round-up on Wednesday.

I’ll be there. Will you?

Leave a Reply

