“Wonder”ful Weekend

Okay, the title of my post is a lie. It wasn’t an entirely wonderful weekend as I had a family crisis to deal with on Saturday. But it wasn’t all bad. On Sunday, after I put in my overtime hours on my job, I wanted to have a little fun, so I went to go see Wonder Woman, which was playing in our local theater.

It was pretty good, as superhero movies go. I’m not entirely a huge fan of superhero movies (neither of Marvel or DC), but I can take them better than I can some other movies, that’s for sure. And I grew up watching the animated cartoons of many of these characters (mostly DC, but a few Marvel as well) so it’s cool to see them portrayed in live action film.

I’ve seen my fair share of superhero movies in my time, and I have to say that Wonder Woman is probably one of the best ones I’ve seen so far. I mean, sure it’s kind of dark (as DC movies go), especially towards the end, but I still liked it overall. It’s funny, filled with plenty of action, and leaves you to anticipate what will happen to Diana (played by Gal Gadot) next. It was also good to see Steve Trevor, portrayed by Chris Pine, as he appeared in the animated Justice League series when the League goes back in time to stop Vandal Savage from changing history during the World War II era, and Diana meets up with Steve. So it was pretty cool that they played on their relationship in the movie as well.

The movie gets pretty violent towards the end when Diana fights Ares, the god of war, but the special effects make it worth sitting through. I’d watch it again when it comes out on DVD in a few months. And I’m sort of stoked about the upcoming Justice League that will be hitting theaters this November. And being a somewhat, “sort of” Justice League “fan”, you can bet that I’ll be having my rare movie theater experience as I plan to go see it!

Until next time, dear readers…