It’s that time again. Yep, time for another SIA interpretation by me! This time, Jen, over on Librarian For Life And Style, was the curator and she chose a piece by Marc Chagall, a Russian-French painter that I have never heard of. You can read more about him on Jen’s blog, who placed helpful links that you can click on to read and see more of his art.

The painting that Jen chose, Coq Rouge Dans la Nuit, or Red Rooster in the Night (English Translation) because, in her own words, it “overtly expresses love, in all its dark, swirly, enveloping beauty”. I quite agree as the painting does seem to have a sort of smooth, soft-like appearance, especially with the cerulean blue that dominates the painting, as well as the swirly shapes that are found in the painting. Lots of smooth, soft lines also attribute to this sort of “romantic feel” that this painting has. And the violin playing goat is just plain hilarious!

As Jen stated on her blog, there were several ways to go about in interpreting this painting and many ways to be creative. I however, went the obvious “lazy” route and just wore my deep blue Polo shirt, seen here:

Red Rooster In The Night SIA

As basic as this look may be, the more that I look at my shirt, the more that I see that the folds (as well as a few wrinkles, ugh…) in my shirt emulate the various shades of blue found in the painting. The way the light is hitting certain parts of my shirt make for some unintentional various shades of blue that turns out to be perfect for this SIA (go me!).

So that’s it for me. Be sure to check out Jen’s blog on Tuesday, June 6th, to see how everyone else was inspired by Chagall’s painting. Should be interesting!

2 thoughts on “SIA: “Red Rooster In The Night”

  1. Hi Mike! How are you? Well, I hope! Your blue t-shirt is great for this challenge- the perfect shade (I have also worn this shade!) and the black trousers go well. I also like your thoughts about the folds in the t-shirt. I think part of the fun is being able to articulate your/our own thoughts, musings and inspiration for where our outfit comes from. I think it’s actually harder for you as a guy as you have less accessories than we girls do. We often add a brooch, a scarf or a hairband or necklace to add details so I always think you do so well!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kezzie! Thank you so much for your comment. I am well. Starting off my week quite busy at work, but with no less enthusiasm for what I do. 🙂

      Thank you for the compliment! I really like this blue shirt (probably my favorite of all my Polo shirts, aside from my black ones, of course!). I thought that it matched the blue in the painting quite well! And the folds in the shirt were a nice “accidental addition”, as I didn’t plan it to be that way, but the sunlight at that angle was perfect!!

      Hahaha, you’re right Kezzie. I do find it a bit challenging doing this from a male’s perspective. Usually, I rely on colors and various aspects of a piece, such as positioning of a figure (A Young Girl Reading by Jean-Honoré Fragonard is an example of this).
      But I don’t mind really. It’s still fun for me to do the challenges. 🙂 Really, the most challenging thing of all is the fact that I was so shy in the beginning. I remember my first time participating in SIA, I felt VERY shy about participating and wasn’t sure that I should, or could. But everyone was so nice and accepting of me, that I felt more confident. And over time, it has become quite easy for me. And it’s all thanks to everyone who has supported me, including you! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

