SIA: “Red Rooster In The Night”

It’s that time again. Yep, time for another SIA interpretation by me! This time, Jen, over on Librarian For Life And Style, was the curator and she chose a piece by Marc Chagall, a Russian-French painter that I have never heard of. You can read more about him on Jen’s blog, who placed helpful links that you can click on to read and see more of his art.

The painting that Jen chose, Coq Rouge Dans la Nuit, or Red Rooster in the Night (English Translation) because, in her own words, it “overtly expresses love, in all its dark, swirly, enveloping beauty”. I quite agree as the painting does seem to have a sort of smooth, soft-like appearance, especially with the cerulean blue that dominates the painting, as well as the swirly shapes that are found in the painting. Lots of smooth, soft lines also attribute to this sort of “romantic feel” that this painting has. And the violin playing goat is just plain hilarious!

As Jen stated on her blog, there were several ways to go about in interpreting this painting and many ways to be creative. I however, went the obvious “lazy” route and just wore my deep blue Polo shirt, seen here:

Red Rooster In The Night SIA

As basic as this look may be, the more that I look at my shirt, the more that I see that the folds (as well as a few wrinkles, ugh…) in my shirt emulate the various shades of blue found in the painting. The way the light is hitting certain parts of my shirt make for some unintentional various shades of blue that turns out to be perfect for this SIA (go me!).

So that’s it for me. Be sure to check out Jen’s blog on Tuesday, June 6th, to see how everyone else was inspired by Chagall’s painting. Should be interesting!