Hey there, dear readers. Got another postcard to share with you all. I call it Evening Forest, as the bit of glow that you see in the sky behind the trees, makes me think of a sunset. Pretty simple.

Evening Forest Postcard

Like my last current postcard, Quiet Pond, seen here, I based this one off of one of Bob Ross’s paintings that he did, called Island in the Wilderness. You can watch how he did his painting here.

But unlike my last Bob Ross inspired painting, this one is somewhat disappointing. For one thing, the so-called “reflections” that I tried to do of the trees in the water (bottom right) did not come out good at all. They look more like deformed stalactites that you’d see in a cave. They are way too dark.

Another thing that bothers me about this one is the bottom left, where I’ve tried to paint the bushes that Bob did in his painting. They look more like really bad mustard stains that you can’t get out of your shirt, no matter how many times you throw it in the washing machine. Ugh….

But still, what do you expect with watercolor? It’s hard to do layering of color properly with this particular medium. Oil paint would have probably been better, if I had any. Oh well. You do the best that you can with what you’ve got.

And besides, it’s not all doom and gloom here. I really liked how I did the evening sky with the trees in front of it, fading back into the space. And the little sticks and twigs that I added along the water bank are pretty cool too I think.

So overall, not bad. I hope to do better paintings (whether Bob Ross inspired or otherwise) in the future and maybe give my watercolors a mini hiatus and use color pencils or oil pastels (which I used a little in the end to enhance some of the green on the trees).

Hope everyone has a great week!

P.S. Like with my last post, I put this one on a timer as well so that it will go public around 7am (Eastern Standard Time), Monday morning. Since I found success in this method the last time I did it, I deem that it’s worth doing again.

2 thoughts on “Postcard Post: “Evening Forest”

    1. Hey Salazar, good to hear from you! Always appreciate your comments here.
      Thanks! Yes, I agree. The sky did come out pretty awesome. I followed Bob’s example and painted that first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

