You know what time it is. Yep, it’s time for another SIA presentation!

This week’s challenge is curated by Salazar over on 14 Shades of Grey. She chose the work, Monmon Cats, by Japanese artist, Kazuaki Horitomo. You can see an image of her work here and also read more about her and her art from the handy dandy links that Salazar provided on her blog.

I just couldn’t pass this one up. Though I do not own any cats, I loved this piece for its gray, monotone-like appearance, which suits me just fine, based on my love of grays and blacks. This is what I came up with:

Monmon Cats SIA 2

Not too bad I must say. But I must admit that I’m not 100% happy with it. I mean, sure I got the whole “dark and light stripes” look with my shirt going for me here. But it just doesn’t quite appeal to me like I had hoped that it would. Though I must admit that I like this picture a lot better than the one I took a few days prior to this one. Check it out below:

Monmon Cats SIA

See the difference? I had thought that taking pictures inside would be better for this SIA, as I was really hoping for a white background, or some other background that lacked color. Plus, the sun had already gone down when I took this photo and I wasn’t sure that I’d be granted the opportunity to get another photo in before Tuesday, so this was all I had at the moment. But the lighting wasn’t quite right and I didn’t like my posture (you try posing well with only 3-4 hours sleep). I looked tired in my picture here.

So I was thankful to be able to get a better one snapped before the round-up and the top picture will be the one you see on Salazar’s blog tomorrow.

And while I got the stripes element in to represent the stripes seen in Horitomo’s painting, I wish I could have done a little bit more to make my picture a bit more exciting. Oh well. It is what it is.

Be sure to check Salazar’s blog tomorrow to see how everyone else interpreted this great piece!

2 thoughts on “SIA: “Monmon Cats”

    1. Thank you, Kezzie! I really wanted to incorporate stripes in this challenge so I went with this. But now that I think about it, I should have went with my red and white striped shirt! Well, maybe next time. 🙂
      I loved your outfit as well though. The stripes in yours worked really well and you had the right amount of red with your shoes and collar. Great job!

      Like

Leave a Reply

