It’s time for another SIA challenge! This week’s challenge was curated by Jen, over on Librarian For Life And Style. She chose a piece painted by the incredible artist, Juanita Mulder, a South African woman who owns her own school there and even teaches classes. I’d love to be in one of her classes!

With March being Women’s History Month (and March 8th being International Women’s Day), I’d say that Jen’s choice was right on the money. Ms. Mulder’s painting is of a woman with a lot of color going for it. Check out Jen’s blog for more details of the painting and a few other cool links that she has included.

I thought I did really well with my choice of clothing for this SIA (though my wrinkled jacket does bother me a little…). It was a last minute decision as I wasn’t initially going to participate for personal reasons. But I’m glad that I did in the end because my red shirt/blue and black plaid combo really captured the essence of the colors seen in the painting I believe. The blue and black in the woman’s hair (left side) was a perfect match to the blue and black of my jacket. The red of course, was a nice look to go with all of the red in the painting. And I finished the look with black pants. Not too bad I’d say.

Juanita Mulder SIA

It took me a while to get the look that I wanted; about 5 or 6 different photos in all. I included two of them here.

Juanita Mulder SIA 2  Juanita Mulder SIA 3

Both of these were okay, but I just didn’t like how they came out. The closed jacket shot wins! 😀

And that’s it for this week’s SIA challenge. Be sure to check out Jen’s post (March 14th, 2017) for the round-up pics and see what everyone else came up with! We all did awesome!

Before I end this post, I’d also like to post the previous SIA challenge hosted by Salazar. She chose a movie poster called Sing Street, one of her favorite movies that she viewed last year and watched while she was traveling. You can see her post about it on her blog here.

Now I’m not really into movies and that sort of thing and am very picky about what movies I do watch. But this movie poster that Salazar chose is pretty darn awesome looking. I like it for all of the black that’s in it (an easy element for me to grasp at for SIA) but also for the overall “flatness” of the image. Sort of reminds me of an Andy Warhol piece of art (Marilyn Monroe comes to mind here) with the flat, solid colors.

Anyway, I had wanted to be a part of Salazar’s round-up for that SIA, but because I was dealing with some personal issues at the time, I was late to the party. But I still managed to snap a picture of my outfit and this was what I came up with.

Sing Street SIA

The green of my shirt isn’t quite the same as the green in the poster, but it comes close enough I think. I mimicked the poster pretty well I’d say as the green and the black are the dominant colors found in it. Not bad.

So that’s it for these last two SIA challenges. I really enjoyed both of them. Looking forward to the next one that will be chosen by Erin over on Loop Looks. Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

