Welcome to another edition of SIA. This week’s challenge was curated by Jen over at Librarian For Life And Style. She chose Isabella Parasole’s engraving works for this SIA. You can learn more about her by checking out the Wikipedia page seen here.

As a side note, I’ve been doing a little research on basic blogging, and all of my sources tell me that linking to other sites is perfectly legal and even encouraged to do. Whereas before, I was pretty skeptical about doing it, from here on out, you will see me doing it more. While it may sound silly, I’m not one to jump into things without first looking it up or asking questions, as the last thing I need is any sort of copyright/legal trouble!

So now that we got that out of the way, let’s continue. And by the way, I just created my first hyperlink in this post! I’ll get the hang of this blogging thing yet!

So, back to the SIA challenge. I chose two outfits for this one as I deemed it appropriate, given the black and gray appearance of Parasole’s works.

isabella-parasole-sia-1isabella-parasole-sia-2

Pretty simple to see that I based my inspiration on color (my usual “go to” for these challenges). Now that I think about it, I should have worn my black shoes instead of my brown ones to really complete the look, but other than that, I have no qualms about my attire. For those of you who know me well enough, this is how I like to dress 95% of the time, both at work as well as at home, which leads me to the title of today’s post. While I usually title the SIA posts with whatever work that is currently being used for the challenge, I decided to go a different route this time. I was inspired to write the title “Just Call Me “Kuro”” by a graphic novel manga series I started reading called Shoulder-A-Coffin-Kuro, which is about a girl who travels around in search of the witch that has cursed her. I will talk more about the series later, but what I like the best about it is that she wears black all of the time and is unofficially named “Kuro”, which means “black” in Japanese.

So that’s why I chose to name this post the way that I did. Just call me “Kuro”, ha.

Be sure to check out Jen’s blog on Tuesday for the round-up and see how everyone else went about in interpreting Isabella Parasole’s work. Also, be sure to check back here tomorrow as it’s book review day (last day of the month for me). I just have one book to talk about, but I’ll share a few others that I’m reading as well. Hope to see you there!

 

2 thoughts on “Just Call Me “Kuro”

  1. I aam sure tthis piece oof writjng hass touched alll thhe inyernet viewers, itts
    really really fastidiou paragrraph oon bbuilding up neww webb site.
    I coulkd nnot resist commenting. Veryy welll written! I couldn’t resist commenting.
    Perfctly written! http://foxnews.net/

    Like

Leave a Reply

