Hey there everyone. Happy New Year! 2017 is finally upon us; it’s hard to believe. I’m hoping for a great year this time around and not be another “turd fest”, as one of my blogging buddies put it the other day (I still can’t stop laughing at the sound of that!).

Anyway, onto my post here.

If you’ve been reading along, the SIA team is officially on break currently for the holidays. But I thought that it would be fun to do a special, one person solo SIA post and round-up to sort of pay homage to my fellow SIA team members as well as to sort of make up for the ones that I missed back in 2016, especially during the summer (see “turd fest” reference above for reasons concerning that). And I thought that it would be fun to curate one of my own postcards this time around. So I chose one in which I call City Lights.

city-lights-postcard

It’s pretty simple in that I tried to portray fast-moving traffic moving throughout a busy city at night, which I took from memories of my childhood, riding with my family through our city at night. Check last Monday’s post, for more details about the postcard.

And here is my interpretation for City Lights.

city-lights-sia-1

Yep, I went with my infamous Super Mario t-shirt for this project. For those of you who have been following along, I wore a similar outfit for a previous SIA challenge, hosted by Erin for the street art that she chose called Brummel. The only differences are that 1) I’m wearing black pants instead of jeans, 2) I’m also wearing my special bracelet, given to me by one of my Indian pen pals, and 3) I finally got a haircut!

city-lights-sia-2    city-lights-sia-3

 

I think all three of these factors makes for a great photo, don’t you? I chose the Mario T again because I thought that the colors on it represented the colors in the postcard quite well. The red, for obvious reasons, was a big one, but even for the yellow, which is less prominent in the shirt, was represented well enough that I wanted to include it (hint: check out Mario’s yellow buttons on his overalls).

And I happened to be wearing my bracelet on the day that I took the pictures, so I decided to include that into the mix as I thought that the little beads represented the lights of the city pretty good (small and round).

So there you have it folks. While not as good as what the official SIA team would do, not too bad, right? I thought it was a good way to start off the new year, in the hopes of 2017 being better than the preceding year (yeah 2016, you sucked big time, especially the summer!!!). But with the prospect of finding new books to read, and me starting my new still life postcard art project, I’d say that the chances of having a good year are pretty high. I’m even looking forward to a few new movies that are coming out, like Justice League and Thor: Ragnarok. I’m not much of a movie person, but those should be pretty fun to see. Of course, they won’t be out for a while (like November of 2017), but in the meantime, I’ll keep myself occupied with other fun stuff (like reading and painting).

Happy New Year!

P.S. I didn’t post book reviews last month for the simple fact that I had not finished any books for it. So I thought it was stupid to post a review of just books I’ve been reading. I should have something prepared by the end of this month. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

