Hey everyone, welcome to yet another SIA challenge here on Postcard Purposes! I’m still really new at this blogging thing so all I’m hoping for is that you all will continue to read and help support my little corner here on the net. I really appreciate it!!

So let’s get right down to it. It’s SIA time and it was Salazar’s turn to curate our latest piece of artwork for our style inspired theme, and she chose the very cool painting Tempest, by John Larriva. You can see the painting for this SIA on Salazar’s blog at: https://14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com/2016/11/21/sia-inspiration-john-larriva/.

It depicts a young woman against a blue background with her hair billowing in a breeze (hence the name of the artwork). Don’t you just love the expression on her face? So serious and mysterious, but not deviant or malicious. It actually reminds me a lot of Edward Hopper’s work as he often painted women with rather obscure looks on their faces, like Mr. Larriva did here. And that leaves one with a lot of freedom to go about in interpreting this piece of artwork. And this is how I went about it.

tempest-sia-2

This is the photo that I submitted to Salazar for her round-up post tomorrow. As you can see, I went with a simple look (which also happens to be my favorite — it’s all black so of course I love it). It matches the woman’s top as well as her hair (though there’s some hints of brown in both). I didn’t try to match the blue that’s behind her as I wanted an all black look this time around and I even included a hat to obscure my eyes, as the woman’s hair in the painting obscures one of her eyes. I like this look in particular because it sort of gives me the whole “anime” look. And for those of you who are anime watchers like myself, then you know what I’m talking about as they will often show a character’s eyes in black shadow, which almost gives them a mysterious, and sometimes, deviant look, which I think is pretty darn cool. So I sort of had that in mind when I took the photos for this SIA and was really surprised to see how well this one came out. The hat really came in handy here since I obviously don’t have the hair to pull off such a look.

So there you have it. I really had fun with this challenge as you can see from the additional photos below that I took using my new iPod that I got just a little over a week ago (notice the clarity in these as compared to my previous photos on the blog?).

Be sure to check out Salazar’s blog on Tuesday to see how everyone else interpreted this work!

tempest-sia-3tempest-sia-4tempest-sia-5

Leave a Reply

