Okay, I’m going to be totally guilty of bragging (somewhat) in this post. And no, it has nothing to do with postcards. But then, neither did any of my earlier posts when I started this blog. Yeah, I guess I was a bit too ambitious back then, but like with anything, it takes time to develop anything that’s worth doing.

But I digress.

So last Friday, my library held our annual Staff Development Day event in which all of the library branches in the county are closed to the public, but we employees all meet at the main branch, where I work, for a day of meetings, workshops, a chance to win raffle baskets (for a worthy cause of course) and to hear our director give his State of the Library Address. It’s both fun and overwhelming for me (spoken like a true introvert, that of which I am) and by the end of the day, I feel really drained and ready to crash for the rest of the day.

But this year was a little special. I celebrated my 10th year anniversary there! I started in the fall of 2006 at one of our local branches, where I worked for the first 2 years. In 2008, I transferred to the main branch downtown and have been there ever since. And I must say that I love it.

Each year, they hold the years of service awards for those who have reached their tenure years (5, 10, 15, 20, etc.). I received my 5 year award back in 2011 and here I am doing it again in 2016!

After my fellow co-workers and I accepted our framed certificates and mini gifts from our director on stage (felt a little like graduation), everyone in their respective group years met outside the auditorium for our group photo, which you see below. That’s me in the back, in case you have a hard time locating me. But I sort of stick out like a sore thumb here as I’m the only guy in the photo. And my big ‘ol forehead can be seen from clear across the room, so I’m not that hard to spot. 😉

Some people here I know, and have worked with, some I don’t know. But off in the far right corner, the woman in the orange jacket is our library’s deputy director, the second in command of our entire library system! I think it’s kind of cool that I’m in the same picture as one of our administration personal. That doesn’t happen too often!10-year-anniversary-pic

2 thoughts on “10 Years And Counting

Leave a Reply

