Hey there! Looks like I finally found my way back here after my small break. I’m not going to bore you with all the banal details of why I stopped writing here other than that I will say that I absolutely hate two things: Internet trolls and summertime. I’m just happy that it’s over and I can move on here.
But besides the beefs that I have for said topics above, another reason that I stopped writing is because though I liked the stuff that I was writing on the blog, I didn’t like where it was going. I mean, I called it “Post Card Purposes” for the sheer purpose of sharing the postcards that I enjoy making on a regular basis. But since starting the blog, I don’t think I’ve shared one postcard on here (aside from the one you see in the title bar above). All of the other stuff that I was writing, though it was pretty awesome if I do say so myself, just didn’t fit the bill, so to speak, for this kind of blog. And I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to change.
So while I’ll keep posting the SIA pics that I do, like my friends do on their blogs, I think I’m just going to stick with posting postcards that I make, which also means that I probably won’t be writing here everyday. Time will not allow me to do such a thing anyway. But I will also post my book reviews at the end of the month like Salazar does on her blog as we sort of have a good thing going with that. But other than those two elements, Post Card Purposes will be taking a different route. I don’t know how well it will turn out as I’m still new to blogging, but I’m willing to try it a little longer before throwing in the towel. And I wish to thank all of you who didn’t give up on me and leave. Blogging is not always so easy (at least not for me) so I appreciate your loyalty and dedication while I tried to figure this out. Thank you!
So now that I got that said, let’s go to today’s post.
This is this week’s SIA (Style Imitating Art) Le Chat Noir (1896) by Théophile Steinlen, chosen by Jen over on Librarian For Life And Style. You can read more about this awesome poster and the reason Jen chose it here: https://librarianforlifestyle.com/2016/09/12/sia-le-chat-noir/.
I went with a simple look (don’t I always?) here and I tried to include all three colors found in the poster. Of course my favorite color is the most dominant one but I think I have traces of the yellow in my shirt’s text and I got the red covered with my long sleeved burgundy shirt, though it’s the wrong shade of red in my opinion. But there you have it.
And yes, the text on my shirt states the truth. I did have perfect attendance back in high school. So while not brilliant, I was at least consistent. 😉
This is my second SIA challenge to participate in since before my break back in July. Salazar hosted the previous SIA challenge and was my first one to participate in since before the break. It was The Great Wave Off Kanagawa by Hokusai and you can read more about that one on her blog here: https://14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com/2016/08/29/sia-inspiration-hokusai/.
And you can see what I came up with for this one in my picture below. Simple but effective. I think I captured the feel (or at least the color) of the waves in this woodblock print. Great piece of art might I add!
That’s all for now. Hope that you all will keep on reading my blog as it will be a little more active than it was the last few months, just not daily as before. Thanks for all of your support and I hope to hear from everyone soon. Feel free to write a reply!
Later!
le-chat-noir-sia-photo
 the-great-wave-off-kanagawa-sia
Leave a Reply

